Taylor Swift

« I forgot that you existed, And I thought that it would kill me, but it didn’t. » Does Taylor Swift still hold a grudge ? From the opening moments of Lover,you’d be hard pressed to think otherwise. At a first glance, it would seem that the venomous tongue so prominent on Reputation (2017) is on the warpath again, feuding against Kanye West, Katy Perry or her ex… But the superstar has more tact and good sense than to needlessly prolong any in-fighting. Maintaining a mostly indifferent stance to the much-publicised conflicts, her seventh album blends romantic pop, deep introspection and socio-political commentary on the United States as a whole, whilst never straying too far without reminding us of her country singer-songwriter roots. The first and foremost example is the acoustic gem Lover, where she pays tribute to her partner of three years, Joe Alwyn. Far from being sirupy, she has a few humorous notes: « Swear to be overdramatic and true to my lover / And you’ll save all your dirtiest jokes for me ». The waltz’s light-hearted tone is follow by t The Man’s activist synth-popShe jokes: « If I was flashing my dollars I’d be a bitch not a baller ». The title itself is a clear explicitation of her feminist message – how would she have been portrayed by the media if she had been a man ? – her questioning stance verges on disillusion, albeit with some nuance, with Miss Americana & The Heartbreak Prince. American high schools are reinterpreted as a symbol of the United States’ decline: « American glory faded before me / Now I’m feeling hopeless, ripped up my prom dress / Running through rose thorns, I saw the scoreboard / And ran for my life ». Swift also dedicates You Need To Calm Down to all the homophobic haters, as a way of telling them that their outrage and agitation are in vain.  

  1. I Forgot That You Existed.flac
  2. Cruel Summer.flac
  3. Lover.flac
  4. The Man.flac
  5. The Archer.flac
  6. I Think He Knows.flac
  7. Miss Americana & The Heartbreak Prince.flac
  8. Paper Rings.flac
  9. Cornelia Street.flac
  10. Death By A Thousand Cuts.flac
  11. London Boy.flac
  12. Soon You’ll Get Better.flac
  13. False God.flac
  14. You Need To Calm Down.flac
  15. Afterglow.flac
  16. ME! (feat. Brendon Urie of Panic! At The Disco).flac
  17. It’s Nice To Have A Friend.flac
  18. Daylight.flac
    Share by


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here