The Legendary Prestige Quintet Sessions
The Miles Davis Quintet
Released on 12/6/19 by Craft Recordings
Main artist: Miles Davis Quintet
Genre: Jazz

In just three sessions between November 1955 and October 1956, Miles Davis and his first quintet recorded enough material for the release of five albums under the label Prestige. With the great Rudy Van Gelder in his studio in Hackensack, New Jersey, this creative marathon produced some of the most iconic albums in the trumpeter’s discography, such as Miles: The New Miles Davis Quintet (1956), Cookin’ (1957), Relaxin’ (1958), Workin (1959) and Steamin’ (1961). Joining him are pianist Red Garland, double bassist Paul Chambers, drummer Philly Joe Jonas and saxophonist John Coltrane (before he became famous as a musical God). Throughout these 32 tracks which are chronologically sequenced and remastered in Hi-Res 24-Bit, the quintet essentially writes the birth certificate for hard bop, defining the genre. Although it often seems to be Miles David’s second quintet (1965-1968 with Herbie Hancock, Ron Carter, Tony Williams and Wayne Shorter) which has pride of place in the jazz history hall of fame, it shouldn’t overshadow this earlier group from the mid-fifties which was equally as influential. Miles’ pared-down style, the originality of Coltrane and his intricate keys and the great precision of Garland’s playing make for some stunning versions of these compositions, which include both popular music and more unconventional and innovative pieces. A must-listen!


  • 5 disc(s) – 32 track(s)
  • Total length: 03:11:39

1. Stablemates.flac
2. How Am I To Know-.flac
3. Just Squeeze Me.flac
4. There Is No Greater Love.flac
5. The Theme.flac
6. S’posin’.flac
7. In Your Own Sweet Way.flac
8. Diane.flac
9. Trane’s Blues.flac
10. Something I Dreamed Last Night.flac
11. It Could Happen To You.flac
12. Woody’n You.flac
13. Ahmad’s Blues.flac
14. Surrey With The Fringe On Top.flac
15. It Never Entered My Mind.flac
16. When I Fall In Love.flac
17. Salt Peanuts.flac
18. Four.flac
19. The Theme (Take 1).flac
20. The Theme (Take 2).flac
21. If I Were A Bell.flac
22. Well, You Needn’t.flac
23. ‘Round Midnight.flac
24. Half Nelson.flac
25. You’re My Everything.flac
26. I Could Write A Book.flac
27. Oleo.flac
28. Airegin.flac
29. Tune Up.flac
30. When Lights Are Low.flac
31. Blues By Five.flac
32. My Funny Valentine.flac
Share by hires-audio.com.txt






Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here